The Board of Commissioners of the Port of New Orleans consists of seven commissioners. They are unsalaried and serve five-year staggered terms. The Governor of Louisiana appoints members from a list of three nominations submitted by 19 local civic, labor, education and maritime groups.

The Board reflects the Port’s three-parish jurisdiction, with four members from Orleans Parish, two from Jefferson Parish and one from St. Bernard Parish. Chairman Chouest and Commissioner Jensen represent Jefferson Parish. Vice Chairman Baker and Secretary-Treasurer Hernandez represent Orleans Parish, as well as Commissioners Darryl D. Berger and William H. Langenstein. Commissioner Ponstein represents St. Bernard Parish.

Future Board Meetings


  • August 23
  • September 27
  • October 25
  • November 15
  • December 20

August Board Meeting (Agendas Coming Soon)

  • August 20 Committee Meeting
  • August 23 Executive Meeting
  • August 23 Regular Board Meeting